Weekly Book Discoveries – July 10, 2017

 

Before I got into reading I was addicted to music. Each week I got on iTunes, checked out the new releases, and looked for new artists. But that was then. Now reading is my new addiction. Like many people, I am subscribed to several book deal newsletters. Whenever I go into a store I have to check out their book section. I love finding a new story that grabs my attention.

All that means that my TBR list keeps growing, and I want to help you grow yours as well. Below are a few books that I discovered this past week and bought for myself. Maybe one of them will grab your attention as well. Unfortunately, I now have to decide which one I will read first. Have you already read any of them? I’d love to hear what you think of it.

What books did you discover this week? Let me know in the comments below.

Most of these books this were brought to my attention through friends and groups on Facebook.


Hedge King in Winter (The Matter of Manred Saga Book 1)
by Michael E. Dellert

The King is crippled. The Kingdom stands on the brink of war.

Can the King’s brother Eowain defend the realm against the machinations of their rival cousin?

When his brother is dangerously wounded, young Lord Eowain is faced with a desperate choice between the law, his family, and the good of his kingdom. And when the mysterious Order of the Drymyn, sorcerer-priests with their own occult agenda, pressure him to take the throne, Eowain has to wonder whether there isn’t something darker and more dangerous a-foot. Why should kings far and wide suddenly take an interest in him? What dark powers have awakened in the Kingdom of Droma? How will they threaten the future of his kingdom, the destiny of things yet to come, and even his own soul?

Hedge King in Winter, the first tale in the Matter of Manred, is a new heroic dark fantasy action-adventure, now available on Amazon for your Kindle and in print. This exciting tale introduces the adventures of the warriors, kings, and sorcerer-priests of the Matter of Manred Saga, a deep and complex milieu in the tradition of Glenn Cook, Chris Bunch, and Robert E. Howard. Nuanced, lyrical and absorbing, Hedge King in Winter is only the merest taste of a complex and deeply researched world still to come.

Genre: Dark Fantasy


Sanyare: The Last Descendant (The Sanyare Chronicles Book 1)
by Megan Haskell

BRAG Medallion Winner
A woman torn between honor and survival…

Raised in a realm where humans are no better than slaves, Rie Lhethannien has struggled for decades to earn a meager post in the High Court messenger service. Even training as an elite fighter isn’t enough to earn the respect she craves. Scorned by the high elves who rely on her loyalty, Rie’s closest allies are the fierce carnivorous pixies who travel by her side.

When she’s attacked on a routine delivery by assassins from the enemy Shadow Realm, Rie’s martial prowess keeps her alive…and frames her as a traitor. Facing execution at the hand of an unmerciful high elf king, Rie must forsake her oaths and flee into enemy lands to prove her innocence. With surprising help from a bastard prince and an ambitious blood sidhe, Rie searches for the truth behind the attack. The secrets she uncovers may threaten more than her honor or even her life…for war is looming in the nine faerie realms.

Sanyare: The Last Descendant is the first book in The Sanyare Chronicles, a fast-paced dark fantasy adventure. If you like kick-butt heroines and action-packed fantasy filled with mythological creatures, then you’ll love the first novel in Megan Haskell’s debut series.

Genre: Fantasy


Full Dive
by T.M. Rain

In the virtual city of Atlantis, anything is possible. Floating islands dot the sky, portals provide instant travel, and people are free to be whatever they’d like—from a supermodel to a three-legged cat in a space suit. But for Wil, a failing dance club designer, Atlantis isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Desperate for cash and an escape from routine, he volunteers to test the next hot thing: a fully-immersive simulation video game.

But what’s with the health disclaimers and liability waivers? And why is the sim so painful?

Something is wrong.

From a monster-infested forest to the seedy back alleys of Atlantis, Wil is suddenly swept up in a conflict that could determine the future of virtual reality. Lives are at stake. The corporation behind the sim is in denial. And as Wil races to discover the truth of what’s happening, he’s finally forced to come to terms with the virtual world he’s always hated.

Full Dive is a science fiction adventure of the near future.

Genre: Cyberpunk


The Last Librarian: An AOI Thriller (The Justar Journal Book 1)
by Brandt Legg

“Never let them catch you reading!”

In the year 2098, there is no more war, no more hunger and no more pollution. The world is secure and Earth’s 2.9 billion people are healthy and happy. There is also only one remaining library that still houses physical books. In addition to the dusty volumes, the library holds many secrets. But the government has decided to shut it down and burn the contents. Unless an unlikely trio can save the books, humanity will lose more than just what is printed on those antique pages.

With a single government ruling the entire planet, one currency, one language and no religion, the population is unified and enjoying the prosperity that comes with more than seven decades of peace. Free healthcare for all and guaranteed employment make the future a dream. But this future may only be safe if they can hide the past. The books must be saved . . . the impossible task is up to an angry author, a brazen revolutionary and the last librarian.

When everything is perfect, the only thing left to fear is the truth.

Genre: Technothriller, Dystopian 


My Name is Simon: I, Dragon Book 1
by Nathan Roden

A tyrant. A curse. The realm’s true king… isn’t human.
Six-year-old Simon is heir to the Morgenwraithe throne. Or at least he was, until his deranged mother murdered his father and placed an unbelievable curse on the young boy. Trapped inside the body of a dragon, Simon must flee the castle and try to survive in a kingdom where the scaly beasts have been hunted to near extinction.

When the boy-turned-dragon learns he can take human form once a month, he begins making allies. As the years go by and a vicious lord takes control of the kingdom, Simon has one chance to break the curse and save the realm… but at what cost?

Genre: Mythology, Folklore, Fairy Tale


Ordination: Book One of The Paladin Trilogy
by Daniel Ford

***This is the book I am currently reading.***

For generations, warlords fought bitterly for dominance in a land without a king, leaving a fractured, war-torn country plagued by thieves, slavers, and the servants of dark gods and darker magic. Allystaire Coldbourne travels a treacherous path toward his Ordination as a holy knight of legend, a Paladin, a savior of the people. But to fulfill this role, he—and the unexpected allies he finds along the way—must face the demonic, sorcerous evil that stalks the land, the wrath of gods and men, and his own dark past.

Genre: Epic Fantasy

About leighgendarium

Preston Leigh, with the help of many in the indie community, is the founder of The Leighgendarium.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *